CloudFlare + Gmod to hide IP, anyone know how to do this?

by CryptAlchemy - 29-06-2015, 02:16 AM
Member
Posts:
126
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
5
Credits:
1
Reputation:
2
2 Years of Service
#1
OP
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:16 AM
Hello, I would like to know if anyone knows of any way to hide the IP address of a Garry's Mod server with CloudFlare and DNS.


Garry's Mod/Source servers are unprotected and CloudFlare would be the perfect solution to this.

I heard that it is possible with SRV DNS records, but I'm not sure if this is legit.

I would appreciate some input on this subject, thanks in advance!
In Love With Aoki ❦
Posts:
624
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
48
Credits:
758
Reputation:
19
2 Years of Service
#2
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:17 AM
I'm not sure how Cloudflare DNS works, but if you can make an SRV (Service record) you can do it easily.

If you go to your CF DNS settings and it says SRV record or Service record I can help you with doing that Smile
CryptAlchemy
29-06-2015, 02:33 AM
The Mandingo Man
Posts:
890
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
130
Credits:
2,025
Reputation:
120
Sys Admin
2 Years of Service
#3
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:32 AM
The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.
[Image: jqsoo2y.png]
Member
Posts:
126
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
5
Credits:
1
Reputation:
2
2 Years of Service
#4
OP
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:32 AM (This post was last modified: 29-06-2015, 02:34 AM by CryptAlchemy.)
(29-06-2015, 02:17 AM)Azzurra Wrote: I'm not sure how Cloudflare DNS works, but if you can make an SRV (Service record) you can do it easily.  

If you go to your CF DNS settings and it says SRV record or Service record I can help you with doing that Smile

Awesome! Yes, CloudFlare does indeed have DNS settings and it allows for SRV records.

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

Hmm, wouldn't SRV DNS work though if I routed an A record's subdomain say, "server.darkrpuploaded.net" and I made an SRV for it with the name "server" and made the port 27015.
In Love With Aoki ❦
Posts:
624
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
48
Credits:
758
Reputation:
19
2 Years of Service
#5
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:36 AM (This post was last modified: 29-06-2015, 02:37 AM by Azzurra.)
(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

But your "host" IP is hidden in the CF DNS?

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)CryptAlchemy Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:17 AM)Azzurra Wrote: I'm not sure how Cloudflare DNS works, but if you can make an SRV (Service record) you can do it easily.  

If you go to your CF DNS settings and it says SRV record or Service record I can help you with doing that Smile

Awesome! Yes, CloudFlare does indeed have DNS settings and it allows for SRV records.

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

Hmm, wouldn't SRV DNS work though if I routed an A record's subdomain say, "server.darkrpuploaded.net" and I made an SRV for it with the name "server" and made the port 27015.

SRV records don't need an A record, SRV records are a way to hide port extensions

After looking into it, GM won't support SRV records though. If you're being attacked I'd suggest a new host Tongue
Member
Posts:
126
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
5
Credits:
1
Reputation:
2
2 Years of Service
#6
OP
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:39 AM (This post was last modified: 29-06-2015, 02:40 AM by CryptAlchemy.)
(29-06-2015, 02:36 AM)Azzurra Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

But your "host" IP is hidden in the CF DNS?

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)CryptAlchemy Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:17 AM)Azzurra Wrote: I'm not sure how Cloudflare DNS works, but if you can make an SRV (Service record) you can do it easily.  

If you go to your CF DNS settings and it says SRV record or Service record I can help you with doing that Smile

Awesome! Yes, CloudFlare does indeed have DNS settings and it allows for SRV records.

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

Hmm, wouldn't SRV DNS work though if I routed an A record's subdomain say, "server.darkrpuploaded.net" and I made an SRV for it with the name "server" and made the port 27015.

SRV records don't need an A record, SRV records are a way to hide port extensions

After looking into it, GM won't support SRV records though.  If you're being attacked I'd suggest a new host Tongue

Ah, I see. So if I made an SRV for my Garry's Mod server, pointed it to 27015, and used CloudFlare as the DNS provider, it should technically work?

EDIT:
Oh, I see. That's too bad. I was hoping that Gmod supported this so that I could host a popular website on the same VPS that I'm hosting Gmod with.
In Love With Aoki ❦
Posts:
624
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
48
Credits:
758
Reputation:
19
2 Years of Service
#7
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:39 AM
(29-06-2015, 02:39 AM)CryptAlchemy Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:36 AM)Azzurra Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

But your "host" IP is hidden in the CF DNS?

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)CryptAlchemy Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:17 AM)Azzurra Wrote: I'm not sure how Cloudflare DNS works, but if you can make an SRV (Service record) you can do it easily.  

If you go to your CF DNS settings and it says SRV record or Service record I can help you with doing that Smile

Awesome! Yes, CloudFlare does indeed have DNS settings and it allows for SRV records.

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

Hmm, wouldn't SRV DNS work though if I routed an A record's subdomain say, "server.darkrpuploaded.net" and I made an SRV for it with the name "server" and made the port 27015.

SRV records don't need an A record, SRV records are a way to hide port extensions

After looking into it, GM won't support SRV records though.  If you're being attacked I'd suggest a new host Tongue

Ah, I see. So if I made an SRV for my Garry's Mod server, pointed it to 27015, and used CloudFlare as the DNS provider, it should technically work?

After looking into it, GM won't support SRV records though. If you're being attacked I'd suggest a new host Tongue
Member
Posts:
126
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
5
Credits:
1
Reputation:
2
2 Years of Service
#8
OP
Posted: 29-06-2015, 02:41 AM
(29-06-2015, 02:39 AM)Azzurra Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:39 AM)CryptAlchemy Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:36 AM)Azzurra Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

But your "host" IP is hidden in the CF DNS?

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)CryptAlchemy Wrote:
(29-06-2015, 02:17 AM)Azzurra Wrote: I'm not sure how Cloudflare DNS works, but if you can make an SRV (Service record) you can do it easily.  

If you go to your CF DNS settings and it says SRV record or Service record I can help you with doing that Smile

Awesome! Yes, CloudFlare does indeed have DNS settings and it allows for SRV records.

(29-06-2015, 02:32 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: The only way Cloudflare would help, was if your traffic was actually going through their network (I haven't seen a game server do this, it generally doesn't work). Anyone can use dig to search through your DNS records.

Hmm, wouldn't SRV DNS work though if I routed an A record's subdomain say, "server.darkrpuploaded.net" and I made an SRV for it with the name "server" and made the port 27015.

SRV records don't need an A record, SRV records are a way to hide port extensions

After looking into it, GM won't support SRV records though.  If you're being attacked I'd suggest a new host Tongue

Ah, I see. So if I made an SRV for my Garry's Mod server, pointed it to 27015, and used CloudFlare as the DNS provider, it should technically work?

After looking into it, GM won't support SRV records though.  If you're being attacked I'd suggest a new host Tongue

Thanks for your help anyway, it's really appreciated!
The Mandingo Man
Posts:
890
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
130
Credits:
2,025
Reputation:
120
Sys Admin
2 Years of Service
#9
Posted: 29-06-2015, 03:27 AM
No, people can still dig through your DNS regardless of where it is. Cloudflare only hides your IP if you route traffic through them as you would a website.

The only way would be to move host or get a TCP proxy.
[Image: jqsoo2y.png]
In Love With Aoki ❦
Posts:
624
Joined:
Jun 2015
Likes:
48
Credits:
758
Reputation:
19
2 Years of Service
#10
Posted: 29-06-2015, 03:38 AM
(29-06-2015, 03:27 AM)Pulseeey Wrote: No, people can still dig through your DNS regardless of where it is. Cloudflare only hides your IP if you route traffic through them as you would a website.

The only way would be to move host or get a TCP proxy.

After some thought I see this is true, I'd suggest a new host but a proxy is much cheaper, depending on who you choose.
The last reply on this thread is older than a month. Please do not unnecessarily bump it.
Register an account or login to reply
Create an account
Create a free account today and start posting right away. It only takes a few seconds.
Login
Log into an existing account.
1 Guest(s)