Upgrading Tables To Innodb

by Oxygen - 05-04-2015, 05:12 PM
<div class="postbit-usertitle">
Posts:
646
Joined:
Feb 2015
Likes:
50
Credits:
1,222
Reputation:
35
2 Years of Service
#1
OP
Posted: 05-04-2015, 05:12 PM (This post was last modified: 16-04-2015, 05:28 PM by Oxygen.)
This script will convert all your tables to the much better Innodb storage engine than MyISAM.  This is very helpful for larger forums with many users online.  If you do not have MySQL version 5.6 or higher you have three choices to make: 
1) Upgrade to MySQL 5.6 or higher ( you may need to contact your host for this. )
2) Keep Full Text Index searches and let the mybb_posts and mybb_threads tables stay as MyISAM
3) Drop the index on message for the mybb_posts table and the index subject on the mybb_threads table.
Please register or login in order to unlock hidden content.


Once the file is executed, you should delete it off your server.
[Image: UeTXrZ5.png]
Closed Account
Posts:
1,383
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
124
Credits:
1,324
Reputation:
30
2 Years of Service
#2
Posted: 10-04-2015, 12:57 AM
So, if my host have MySQL 5.6 I just have to create a .php file, execute it and when done, just delete it?
Closed Account
Posts:
2,770
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
140
Credits:
1,514
Reputation:
26
2 Years of Service
#3
Posted: 16-04-2015, 01:21 AM
If I remember correctly, InnoDB is TERRIBLE.

eats all your ram and shit
The Mandingo Man
Posts:
901
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
132
Credits:
2,037
Reputation:
123
2 Years of Service
#4
Posted: 16-04-2015, 02:02 AM
(16-04-2015, 01:21 AM)Hug Wrote: If I remember correctly, InnoDB is TERRIBLE.

eats all your ram and shit

InnoDB is better for larger forums, which execute more queries etc.

Although if you're that big, chances are you use MariaDB or an alternative.
[Image: jqsoo2y.png]
Closed Account
Posts:
1,383
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
124
Credits:
1,324
Reputation:
30
2 Years of Service
#5
Posted: 16-04-2015, 02:04 AM
(16-04-2015, 02:02 AM)Pulseeey Wrote:
(16-04-2015, 01:21 AM)Hug Wrote: If I remember correctly, InnoDB is TERRIBLE.

eats all your ram and shit

InnoDB is better for larger forums, which execute more queries etc.

Although if you're that big, chances are you use MariaDB or an alternative.

Is it possible to change from the default one to MariaDB?
The Mandingo Man
Posts:
901
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
132
Credits:
2,037
Reputation:
123
2 Years of Service
#6
Posted: 16-04-2015, 03:38 AM
(16-04-2015, 02:04 AM)AndresXZ09 Wrote:
(16-04-2015, 02:02 AM)Pulseeey Wrote:
(16-04-2015, 01:21 AM)Hug Wrote: If I remember correctly, InnoDB is TERRIBLE.

eats all your ram and shit

InnoDB is better for larger forums, which execute more queries etc.

Although if you're that big, chances are you use MariaDB or an alternative.

Is it possible to change from the default one to MariaDB?

I've not really used MariaDB, I believe the table structures remain as MyISAM or InnoDB but I am not sure. I think it's just a quicker process? I don't even know. I just know it's quicker in some way.

MyBB can be used with, pretty sure HF used it at one point.
[Image: jqsoo2y.png]
<div class="postbit-usertitle">
Posts:
646
Joined:
Feb 2015
Likes:
50
Credits:
1,222
Reputation:
35
2 Years of Service
#7
OP
Posted: 16-04-2015, 05:28 PM
(16-04-2015, 01:15 AM)Ping Wrote:
(10-04-2015, 12:57 AM)AndresXZ09 Wrote: So, if my host have MySQL 5.6 I just have to create a .php file, execute it and when done, just delete it?

Yep, also thanks for this. I tried it and it worked great. Also, you might want to add "hide" tags to your post so it doesn't get leeched.

Added Hide Tags.
[Image: UeTXrZ5.png]
We are!
Posts:
1,044
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
108
Credits:
1,914
Reputation:
25
2 Years of Service
#8
Posted: 25-04-2015, 10:36 PM
(16-04-2015, 02:04 AM)AndresXZ09 Wrote:
(16-04-2015, 02:02 AM)Pulseeey Wrote:
(16-04-2015, 01:21 AM)Hug Wrote: If I remember correctly, InnoDB is TERRIBLE.

eats all your ram and shit

InnoDB is better for larger forums, which execute more queries etc.

Although if you're that big, chances are you use MariaDB or an alternative.

Is it possible to change from the default one to MariaDB?

Yeah you can use MariaDB instead of MySQL.
Closed Account
Posts:
1,383
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
124
Credits:
1,324
Reputation:
30
2 Years of Service
#9
Posted: 25-04-2015, 10:38 PM
@Kewl is it better than InnoDB or MySQL?
We are!
Posts:
1,044
Joined:
Jan 2015
Likes:
108
Credits:
1,914
Reputation:
25
2 Years of Service
#10
Posted: 25-04-2015, 10:39 PM (This post was last modified: 25-04-2015, 10:39 PM by Akay.)
(25-04-2015, 10:38 PM)AndresXZ09 Wrote: @Kewl is it better than InnoDB or MySQL?

I prefer MariaDB than InnoDB and MySQL.
The last reply on this thread is older than a month. Please do not unnecessarily bump it.
Register an account or login to reply
Create an account
Create a free account today and start posting right away. It only takes a few seconds.
Login
Log into an existing account.
1 Guest(s)